Nothin' 2 Prove

The building of Gunn Ranch Academy one caliche rock at a time; our friends, family, passions, learning adventures and our little piece of HIStory in the making!

Crew Review: Because You are Strong by Doorposts

Leave a comment

 photo doorpostlogo_zpsa7a5d5e4.jpg

Doorposts is a company who provides Bible based parenting and character training materials with the goal of making your job easier. I heard of this wonderful company when I first began homeschooling years ago, and have looked over many of their materials at homeschool conventions, online, and at my sister-in-law’s house,  but have never had the privilege to use any of the materials with my own family until now.

When I first saw that the Crew was to review two different Bible studies from Doorposts, one for boys and one for girls, I was really excited to try out Because You Are Strong  with Levi. I’ve done tons of studies with my girls, but have not really dug into anything too major with Levi since he is only 7.

When I began to look into the study and all that was involved, it sounded so amazing. All except for the fact that it is targeted to boys ages 10-12 and up. With Levi being a little young for it, I voiced my concerns and decided to go ahead and use it with him.

Because You Are Strong, A Study of Godly Strength for Young Men can be purchased for $14.00 for the softcover workbook or $10.00 for the pdf downloadable ebook.

The first really cool thing about it?

The picture on the cover!!

It really gives you the feeling that you are about to embark on a noble and valiant journey, doesn’t it?!

 photo because-you-are-strong_zps09c21e6d.jpg

When I received my glossy covered jewel, I was excited to begin working through ten in-depth studies focusing on heroes like David, Samson, and the “mighty men of valor” I had read about on the website.

This study was designed to help young men accomplish two goals:

1.  to gain a biblical understanding of strength

2.  to learn and practice Bible study skills

I love one of the opening sentences from the Introduction to the book:

“Young men have abundant strength and energy, but we don’t usually have an over-abundance of wisdom.”

Also in the introduction:

“It is important that we study what God actually says not what we think God says. We need to pray for guidance from the Holy Spirit. In addition, we need to follow sound study practices and use proven resources as we study.”

I usually don’t quote many things verbatim, but I just thing these two lines really sum up what this study is all about.

The book is divided into ten studies, which are each broken down into five daily assignments.

It is recommended to have Nave’s Topical Bible and Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance on hand to use with the study, and many online resources are discussed as helpful to use while learning how to use the large variety of tools available for Bible study.

Some of the things taught by this study are:

how to use a concordance

how to study the original Greek and Hebrew words used in a passage

how to perform a character study

how to study a specific topic in the Bible

understanding and using marginal notes in your Bible

studying a verse, passage, chapter or entire book of the Bible

using free Bible study tools on computers and mobile devices

At the end there is even a section with alternate questions for young ladies so you can use it with your whole family!

While I know you can see the table on contents for yourself on the product page (along with sample pages!), I just can’t help but list them here, because they sound as exciting as the cool picture looks on the cover! Look here at the ten studies:

  1. Strength for the Race: Meditating on Hebrews 11-12
  2. Strength with no Limits A Topical Study on the Omnipotence of God
  3. Strength and Wisdom: A Topical Study in Proverbs
  4. Strength and Temptation: A Character Study of Samson
  5. Strength to be Valiant: A Word Study on “Valor”
  6. Strength in Our Weakness: A Verse Study on 2 Corinthians 12:9-10
  7. Strength in the Battle: A Chapter Study of 1 Samuel 17
  8. Strength Serving Others: A Study of Jesus’ Actions in the Gospel of Mark
  9. Strength and Gray Heads: A Verse Study of Proverbs 20:29
  10. Strength in the Faith: A Book Study of 1 John

Pretty cool, huh?

Because You are Strong at Gunn Ranch Academy

I already mentioned I was pretty excited by the picture on the cover of the book and the table of contents!

I just love the subject of Strength, and I also really LOVE Bible studies.

Levi has sat in on a few family studies with us, but none really geared for his level. I have gone through many “concept” and “topic” discussions with him, and we have been through books of the Bible together like Proverbs, but this study just looked like something I really wanted to talk about with him.

When I first opened the book to the work pages, I saw many lines and lots of room to write answers and make notes. It is definitely designed as a “work” book, to physically work through and make lots of notes in.

The organization and format of the book is very nice, and would be super-easy for young (distract-able) teenage boys to be able to use.  The directions are very easy to understand and follow.

It wasn’t quite what I expected, but not in a negative way.

I expected more discussion, more teaching material. I realized that the workbook is really more geared for independent Bible study by the student. It’s a great little tool to lead a boy through the Bible by teaching him how to utilize many different types of tools. As the study teaches the boy how to study his Bible and use these tools, its uses the subject of “strength” to do so.

I loved the idea of covering this topic with Levi, but the nature of the study being more of an independent tool to teach a boy how to study his Bible and use Bible tools made it a little difficult to share it with him.  Since he isn’t a strong reader yet, he really can’t use many of the tools being discussed in this study. I really didn’t find myself able to use much of the discussion with him at his age because it was more about teaching him to look things up, and as I looked things up myself, I was mostly answering the questions myself.

One thing I wasn’t too sure about was the fact that there are no answers to help guide the student in the right direction. There wasn’t much elaboration on the answers. I realize the study is meant to show the student to rely on scripture for the answers instead of what we “think” it should say, but I do think it might be a bit hard at times to rely on interpretation without some help.

All in all, I really like this book and its study method to teach young men how to read and study their Bible and introduce them to (as well as teach them how to use) the many Bible study tools out there.

We own many Bible study tools such as Naves and Strong’s and a few more my older girls have learned to use through other studies and I feel it is really important for kids to realize they exist and how much they can help them study their Bibles.

If you are looking for a great way to teach your boys how to study their Bibles, and would like them to learn how to study independently using various Bible tools, this is a great study for you!!

To read about my Crew Mates’ adventures with this study and a similar type study for girls from Doorposts called Beauty in the Heart, click on the banner!

Photobucket

Enjoy Your Journey!

Chris

 photo Disclaimer2_zpsff718028.gif

Leave a Reply

