Nothin' 2 Prove

The building of Gunn Ranch Academy one caliche rock at a time; our friends, family, passions, learning adventures and our little piece of HIStory in the making!

Action Alert

Leave a comment

Photobucket

As a member of the TOS Homeschool Crew, I was given the opportunity to download Internet safety software by Action Alert for review.

There is a free version of the software that will “kidsafe” your computer, or for $29.99 you can receive maximum protection including multiple user protection, full customization, and full social network monitoring.

Here’s a graphic of some of the great tools you get with this program:

Photobucket

We received the full version of this program. The setup and download was easy, and I decided to try it out on both of our computers. I noticed immediately that the program changes your homepage to Action Alert. The only way to disable Action Alert being your homepage every time the computer is turned on also disables the automatic search protection, which is the whole point of the program. I didn’t care too much for this aspect of the program.

Some of the features I tried out were typing in a variety of words to try out the alert aspect of the program. I did receive emails alerting me that a certain word had been searched noting which computer, time, etc.

I viewed a video of the computer activity that I had done which showed all of the screens that had been visited over the period I selected to view.

I didn’t try out the time allowance because it’s not necessary or applicable to my family or our computers to have the computer set to shut off after certain time. We don’t really spend an excess amount of time on the computers because we live on a ranch and have so much to take care of outside.

I definitely see how this program would help many families monitor and limit computer usage. I completely understand the dangers and exposure computers can bring. I have wanted to put a safety filter on our computers since my girls are older now and doing so much independent research to avoid accidentally running into something that shouldn’t be out there in the first place. Action Alert does have a filter, but some of the others features are things our family doesn’t really need at this time.

I can, however, see how this would be a great program if you need to be able to set limits, and it’s great for accountability.

For other families’ adventures with Action Alert, visit our Crew Blog!

Chris

Photobucket

We received the full version download as members of the TOS Homeschool Crew for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

