Nothin' 2 Prove

The building of Gunn Ranch Academy one caliche rock at a time; our friends, family, passions, learning adventures and our little piece of HIStory in the making!

NaNoWriMo Time Again!!

Leave a comment

Last year was our first experience with National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo.

Both of my girls met their word count goals last year, and have continued to access the forum on the Young Writer’s website throughout the year. They have been gearing up for a couple of months for this month of  November to write a novel again!

I never would have imagined something this cool was available for free before we found it last year. I printed off the free Young Writers workbooks last year in each child’s grade range and we worked through those. They are just such an amazing resource, and I can’t believe they are free.

If you would like to check them out, all you have to do is register for a free account on the Young Writers website, then click on Resources, then Young Writer Workbooks. You then may choose from Elementary, Junior High or High School and download it for free (or purchase a hardcopy).

 

The website is so awesome- there are tons of resources for writing, encouragement, ideas, pep talks, and a forum where kids can exchange ideas and form friendships. Each participant has their own profile for which they can add their favorite books, authors, music, methods of writing, hobbies- etc. They can add writing buddies from the other participants on the website, and view their stats, word count percentage met so far, and access their forum posts.

The website also has a great Educators section with tons of resources- lesson plans, teacher’s lounge, classroom kits, etc.

Last year I began writing a novel of my own on the adult NaNoWriMo website. I kept ahead of my wordcount goals for the first couple of weeks, but just found that I could not devote the time required to the project for myself. I grieved as I threw in the towel, because I have always had a passion for writing, and my story was coming alive and my imagination was motivated, words were flowing, and I was definitely given in to writing with abandoned. But one month of abandoned at my house just wasn’t feasible for me. I will have to put my desires away for awhile- and wait for a year that I don’t have so much to do at home. I might be 84 by then, but I’m gonna do it eventually!

So I watched my girls excitedly throw themselves into their novels, discussing ideas, celebrating word goal victories, reading sections of their creations to me that they were particularly excited about.

And when they both exceeded their goals, I felt a great sense of accomplishment with them!

**************************************************************************************

So today is the second day of the official beginning of NaNoWriMo 2011, and not too late to participate if you are so inclined.

Adults word counts must reach 50,000, but kids can choose their own word count goals.

Taylor has chosen 20,000 words, and named her novel Forest Sylvan Chronicles. It is a continuation of last year’s novel.

She hasn’t written a summary yet, but check out her book cover:

 

Morgan has chosen 50,000 for her word count, and has also chosen to continue her novel from last year. She has named this novel FireShadow- The Dragon’s Arising (subject to change according to the author :)) Take a look at the summary copied from her YWP profile:

FireShadow- The Dragon’s Arising, a Summary:

After more than their fair share of blood, sweat, and tears, Tristan, Morgan, and the others have finally reached a turning point in their search for the missing dragons. But when a series of unexpected events interrupt their journey, they discover that in all reality, there are more things than just dragons that need to be saved from the grip of the Dark Summoners… making failure no longer an option. Just when the group discovers that trusting in it’s long-forged friendship may be the key to survival, they learn that there is a traitor among them, and all signs point to one person… the person with the power to make or break them. But are they right? Follow Azvalor’s newest heroes on their journey of  laughter, tears, revelations, rescues, and betrayals in FireShadow- The Dragon’s Arising… the epic sequel to FireShadow

******************************************************

So what happens when they meet their word counts and “win” NaNoWriMo?

Well, they can get a copy of their book published for free. Last year they didn’t want to get their books published because they wanted to edit, then continue their stories to a more complete ending this year.

If you are participating in NaNoWriMo this year, or have comments or questions…I’d love to hear them!!!

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

