Nothin' 2 Prove

The building of Gunn Ranch Academy one caliche rock at a time; our friends, family, passions, learning adventures and our little piece of HIStory in the making!

Marshall Publishing ~ Lots and Lots of Firetrucks! and George Washington Carver

Leave a comment

Photobucket

One of my favorite parts of being a Crew Mate on the TOS Crew is being introduced to companies and products I might otherwise not have heard of, or had the opportunity to use. And even more of a blessing is passing along these cool products to my readers to enrich their homes and families with!

Such is the case with  Marshall Publishing and Promotions Inc., a multi-faceted media publishing organization.

While I have seen the “Lots and Lots of…” series of dvds in the past in various places, I have never owned or viewed any of them. After my little boy was born, however, my attention has been drawn to such things involving tractors, trucks, cars, machinery, and yes, firetrucks.

Little boys just love action: loud sirens, fast moving vehicles, and heroes.

I knew when I looked at this on the website before we received it that my 5 year old Levi would just love it. He has been a tough customer for interest in schoolwork during this kindergarten year, and I am always looking for things that will draw and keep his attention.

 

Fire Safety is definitely something that all families should talk about, and I suspect is something that is overlooked by many. While I know that public schools address fire safety and many organizations visit firehouses and/or arrange a visit from firemen with firetrucks, families should really extend the learning at home, developing an escape plan and reinforcing the stop, drop and roll concept and never play with fire idea as well.

I was probably as excited as Levi when we opened the package to find a brightly colored, large, thick paged book packed with full page pictures entitled Lots & Lots of Fire Trucks & Firefighters.

Also in the package was a dvd entitled Lots & Lots of Fire Songs & Safety Tips. I put the dvd aside as we sat down right away with the book and began reading through it together. I was a bit reluctant to read every page to Levi, as I know how his attention span fades with too many words on a page, but as we began reading Chapter 1 “Meet Firefighter Joe,” it didn’t take me long to figure out that Levi was listening to every word as he gazed at the real-life photograph pictures of the firefighting gear, tools and equipment, and rescue vehicles. Levi’s Daddy was a volunteer rescue worker for several years before he was born and Levi has enjoyed hearing stories and looking at pictures Daniel tells and shows him, so identifying with many of the same tools, lights and sirens was a great connection for him.

The section on fire science basics was also a great learning adventure for Levi, because he and his daddy enjoy making pit fires to cook dinner on, as well as burning brush on the ranch. While Daniel is always very conscientious to teach Levi fire safety, this book (and the dvd) were very good to reinforce the concepts of fire safety.

I enjoyed the section of poems, prayers, quotes, and tributes to the fireman as a hero, and really enjoyed the section on firehouse traditions- the dalmation dog, recipes, living arrangments, etc.

At the rear of the book are chapters on history, antique firetrucks, historical fires, timeline, firehouse museums, websites, etc.

This book is more complete than I could have imagined- and is jam packed full of beautiful pictures to back it up.

My 11 year old daughter enjoyed flipping through the book too, and even labeled it as “cool!”

Levi couldn’t wait to view the dvd, and had watched it several times over and over before I got the opportunity to watch it with him.

The dvd is every bit as fabulous as the book.  It is labeled “suitable for all ages”.  While the book and dvd can be purchase  separately, I would definitely recommend the set with the book and dvd which is on sale right now for $29.95! (Regular price $49.90!!) and coolest thing ever is that you can get a $10 discount by entering the code TOSF1 at checkout just because you read my review!!

This would make an absolutely perfect and unique gift for any little boy or adventurous little girl in your life- or homeschooling family to use as a unit study!!

****************************************************************************

Several days after we received the Firetrucks combo set in the mail, I received yet another product from Marshall Publishing that I wasn’t expecting.

When I opened the package I found a dvd entitled George Washington Carver- His Life and His Work.

 

 

When I clicked over to the website to check it out, I found a whole section of educational historical documentary dvds! I clicked on the the Carver dvd I had received to find it sells for $24.95, but is currently on sale for $19.95. I also found a letter in my package revealing another code to share with my readers for 15% off if you use TOSC1 at checkout!!

I will admit I did receive a few groans when I asked my 14 and 11 year old to view the dvd with me. But alas, I told them it’s only 29 minutes long, and you might accidentally learn something- besides, the cover says he was a creative scientist. I’ll also admit that while I’ve heard of Carver in history classes, his story never stuck with me, so I was eager to find out more about him.

Well, let me say all three of us were intrigued and drawn into this story from the very beginning by the background music and beautiful nature photography.

This is not a typical boring documentary with dates and dead people. This is a story of hope, meaning and inspiration!! As I was watching Carver’s life portraying the importance of hard work, a positive attitude, and a good education, I began to think of all the people I could share this with!

The fact that Carver had a love for flowers and nature from a very early age, and such an intensely inquisitive mind early on drew my group right into his story. He never let his circumstances, his race, his poverty, or any misfortune he had encountered lead him into the victim mentality we see so much of today. He seemed to always look on the bright side, not letting material possessions, fame or fortune get in the way of using his talents and skills to serve others.

What a shining example of character and qualities to follow and learn from!

This dvd is targeted for 4th grade through adult, and would be a super-great addition to American history studies of the late 1800’s, early 1900 period, slavery, agricultural studies, and character studies.

For a more in depth description of this dvd, or to purchase, click here.  (And don’t forget to use that discount code I mentioned earlier!!!)

There are also some great thought-provoking questions at the above link to go with this dvd!

Highly recommended for homeschools and family movie nights!!

Levi has already picked out a couple more dvd’s from the website, and I am thinking I’ll be ordering a few more from the educational historical section too- I truly LOVE when I find educational products that make good Christmas and birthday gifts!!

To read about what my Crew Mates thought of the great products we received from Marshall Publishing, visit our TOS Crew Blog!

Happy Homeschooling!

Chris

*I received these products from Marshall publishing as a Crew Mate on the TOS Crew for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

