Nothin' 2 Prove

The building of Gunn Ranch Academy one caliche rock at a time; our friends, family, passions, learning adventures and our little piece of HIStory in the making!

What Am I? Reader

Leave a comment

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 All About Spelling website

     Our family received another fine All About Spelling product for review. This time we received What Am I?  a collection of short stories by Marie Rippel and Renee La Tulippe. This reader follows the Beehive Reader 1 (to be renamed Cobweb Cat in upcoming editions for a more kid-friendly title) that we previously reviewed.

     What Am I? is Level 2, Volume 1 of the All About Reading program to be launched Winter 2010.  (You might want to go ahead and bookmark the All About Reading website for future use like I did! )

     These readers can be used alone as a reading program, or hand in hand with All About Spelling.  In using What Am I? with AAS, it coordinates with the first 14 steps in AAS Level 2.  I just LOVE the dedication of this company to put such quality teaching tools within our reach, and the talents involved to coordinate these together.

    When I received this reader, it was just what I expected- a beautifully illustrated, nice quality hardback book.  As my two older girls have already been through AAS Level 2,  we could definitely identify the connection and use of lesson topics coordinating the two programs. This reader has longer stories, and includes some riddles and poems in the last couple of chapters. The stories are really cute and clever little stories, and my little guy seemed to enjoy them as I read to him. He was so excited to place the book beside the first reader on his shelf making up a collection. I told him there will be many more readers to come (two readers per level after level one) as he learns to read, and this made him squeal with excitment!

     This reader will be available for $19.95 from the All About Spelling website in April. If you have budding readers, I’m sure they would love to collect these wonderful little books as they are made available just like my little guy.

See what my crewmates and their little readers think of What Am I? over at the TOS Crew website.

Happy Homeschooling!

Chris

This book was provided to me as a member of the TOS Homeschool Crew for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and opinions expressed here are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

