Nothin' 2 Prove

The building of Gunn Ranch Academy one caliche rock at a time; our friends, family, passions, learning adventures and our little piece of HIStory in the making!

abcteach

Leave a comment

 

 

When I first started homeschooling about 6 years ago, some of the first resources recommended to me were websites where you can search and find worksheets and supplemental learning material concerning just about any subject you want to cover. Abcteach was one of those websites, and while I was impressed with the 5,000 worksheets available on the website free of charge, a fellow homeschooling mom showed me how much more was available through her membership (35,000 worksheets, plus!), and I was hooked. After the first couple of years of homeschooling, though, I found we really were moving in a different direction and I really never searched or printed anything we didn’t already have included in our materials. The first couple of years, though, I did have a preschool/kindergartener and the extra material was really helpful.

Abcteach is a great resource for preschool through 8th grade, and they add new material weekly. I really enjoy having access to some great seasonal and holiday printables. They have fabulous worksheet generators, and you can make anything from crossword puzzles to handwriting sheets.  Just scroll down and check out the abctools worksheet generator!

I was pleased today to read in the member newsletter that they have now added Getty-Dubay italics to their fonts, as well as another different one they hadn’t included before. On occasion I see my 9 year old with some odd looking characters on her paper, and have wished I still had the handwriting worksheet software program on my computer that I used to have. Since we use Getty-Dubay handwriting, I can now just print up a practice sheet whenever I see that handwriting slipping a bit!They really do add great stuff to the website all the time. They are also always open for suggestions.

Since we are studying ancient Greece, I was thrilled to run into some Greek recipes that had math word problems with them. I thought they added a little something different to our study time, and we were looking for a couple of easy greek recipes to try with our study.

I am especially thrilled to be able to have the membership again since my preschooler is really interested in doing "school" this year. He has been overjoyed to have his own worksheets to do. We are doing "letter of the week", and there are so many different choices of things to do. Somedays he just wants to do one, somedays he keeps asking for more.

For moms needing some extra math practice sheets, extra materials for little ones, or extra worksheets on something you are currently studying for workboxes or even to show curious relatives or fill portfolios, abcteach is a great resource. Take a look at their video tour to get a visual for yourself.

After my free one month TOS Crew membership was expired, I found I could definitely still benefit from the membership, so I took advantage of a great deal to continue it for a year. You can take advantage of a great deal too, over at Homeschool Buyer’s Coop. They are offering a 50% discount off the normal $40.00 yearly membership through the end of November!  You can also get a two year membership on the website for $70.00.

While worksheets and extra printables aren’t for everyone, this is a great resource for those who do utilize this type of learning in their families and homeschools, or have little ones always needing something to do.

As always, don’t forget to check out what my Crewmates over at the TOS Crew blog think!

Chris

I was given access to abcteach for one month at no charge for purposes of writing this review. No other compensation was given. Opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

